Slow Fermenting?

Slow Fermenting?

Postby G8S » Sat Jul 20, 2013 12:58 am

I am brand new to brewing, and have some EZ caps batches going that don't APPEAR to be fermenting very much after 3 days. There are bubbles forming, but they are not building up it appears, as there is only a thin line on the edge against the bottle. I followed instructions as read on this site and a video on youtube. The receipt I used was like this: (for a 3.8Liter batch): 1.5 cups golden light DME, 1 cup corn sugar, ~1.5 tbsps on hops. Slow boiled for 25 mins, let cool to room temp and added yeast that came with EZ Caps, ~1/4 tsp. AFter 2 days I added maybe another 16th of a tsp to each 2 liter bottle. Both times adding yeast, I shook one bottle and did not shake the other. (Because I saw instructions showing both, so thought I'd try both). They are sitting right around 72-73 deg F. So, my question is, does this sound like normal fermentation, or should I see more bubbles, like I do with the wines I have going???
G8S

Re: Slow Fermenting?

Postby ezcaps » Sat Jul 20, 2013 5:30 pm

What kind of yeast are you using for the beer? Some beer yeasts are selected to ferment slowly in order to allow flavors to develop. Also, the fermentation for grain sugars looks different than fruit sugars. Sometimes I brew beer and the fermentation appears to be going slowly but in reality, sometimes they ferment quicker than wines.

Lastly, if your beer has been fermenting for 3 days at that temperature, it is probably done. Beer ferments amazingly quickly with EZ Caps. Try a little taste test and see if it's ready for the fridge clarification.
ezcaps
Site Admin

Postby G8S » Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:03 pm

I'm using the EZ Cap yeast that came with my kit. I did see at least 1 recipe that said like 3 days, but why do most I have seen talk about 2 weeks? (including the youtube recipe I followed). Different yeast?? I will do test run. If I feel it is not there, would pitching other beer yeast into work?
G8S